User’s Guide
10 Welcome!Viewing the On-screen Reference GuideFollow the instructions on the Start Here sheet to install the on-screen Reference Guide, if you haven
100 Solving ProblemsUninstalling and Reinstalling Printer SoftwareYou may need to uninstall and then reinstall your printer driver and utilities if, f
Solving Problems 1017. Follow the on-screen instructions to uninstall the software.Note: If the name of your printer remains in the Print Center or Pr
102 Solving ProblemsThen call: U.S.: (562) 276-7296, 6 AM to 8 PM, Pacific Time, Monday through Friday and 7 AM to 4 PM, Saturday. Canada: (905) 70
103Requirements and NoticesWindows System RequirementsTo use your printer and its software, we recommend that your system has: Microsoft Windows com
104 Requirements and NoticesImportant Safety InstructionsBefore using your printer, read these safety instructions to make sure you use it safely and
Requirements and Notices 105Ink Cartridge Safety Instructions Keep ink cartridges out of the reach of children. Be careful when you handle used ink
106 Requirements and NoticesFCC Compliance StatementFor United States UsersThis equipment has been tested and found to comply with the limits for a Cl
Requirements and Notices 107Declaration of ConformityAccording to 47CFR, Part 2 and 15 for Class B Personal Computers and Peripherals; and/or CPU Boar
108 Requirements and NoticesEpson America, Inc. Limited WarrantyWhat Is Covered: Epson America, Inc. (“Epson”) warrants to the original retail purchas
Requirements and Notices 109SPECIAL NOTE TO COMMERCIAL USERSThis Epson product is offered as a high quality consumer use product. With proper use and
11Loading PaperYou can load a variety of paper types in your printer, as described in these sections:Paper/Media Where to load See pagePlain paperEpso
110 Requirements and Notices
Index 111IndexAAdobe Photoshop, managing color with, 49 to 62Advanced settingsMacintosh, 36 to 37Windows, 29 to 30Aligning print head, 80 to 81Automat
112 IndexEEdge Smoothing settingcolor management, 53, 57, 60, 62Windows, 29Electronic manual, 9 to 10Enhanced Matte Paper, 14, 38Epsonhelp, 101 to 102
Index 113Matte Black ink cartridge, 7, 77Matte paper, 14, 38, 45Matte sheet support, 15 to 16Media Type setting, Macintosh, 34, 38, 42Mirror images, 9
114 IndexQQuality Option setting, 27, 46, 57Quality/Speed setting, 33, 43, 48, 92RReference Guide, 9 to 10Reinstalling software, 101Roll paperbutton,
12 Loading Paper* This matte paper requires the matte sheet support when loading multiple sheets larger than letter-size; smaller paper can be loaded
Loading Paper 133. Pull out the output tray extension and insert your paper against the right side of the sheet feeder.Check the following as you load
14 Loading PaperLoading Special Paper in the Sheet FeederYou can load these Epson ink jet papers in the sheet feeder as follows:* This matte paper req
Loading Paper 15Loading Multiple Sheets of Matte PaperIf you are loading multiple sheets of the following papers in sizes larger than letter (8.5 × 11
16 Loading Paper2. Place the hooks on the back of the matte sheet support over the paper support extension, then slide it all the way down.Note: Remov
Loading Paper 172. Slide the roll paper edge guide all the way to the right. 3. Line up the notches on the single sheet guide with the slots on the ba
18 Loading Paper5. Insert one sheet of paper against the right edge, then slide the edge guide against the sheet. 6. Guide the paper into the slot and
Loading Paper 197. Maintain a constant pressure against the paper until the printer pulls the paper in slightly. Continue to apply light pressure unti
2Copyright NoticeAll rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by an
20 Loading PaperLoading Roll Paper or CanvasYou can load 4-inch, 8.3-inch, or 13-inch wide roll paper (or 13-inch wide canvas) for printing large imag
Loading Paper 214. Place the roll paper or canvas on the holders as shown, then remove the tape and protective paper from the end of the roll. 5. Make
22 Loading Paper7. Insert the left roll paper holder (marked with an orange triangle) into the far left slot (also marked with an orange triangle). Th
Loading Paper 23Note: You may need to reload canvas or thicker roll media to ensure accurate paper registration. When loading canvas, leave ample slac
24 Loading Paper
25Printing From Start to FinishFollow the steps in these sections to print using your printer’s basic features: “Basic Printing in Windows” on page 2
26 Printing From Start to FinishBasic Printing in WindowsFollow these steps to print a document or image using the basic printer settings: 1. From the
Printing From Start to Finish 275. Select one of these document types as the Quality Option setting: Draft: For rough drafts with reduced print quali
28 Printing From Start to FinishNote: For more information about printer settings, click the ? or Help button. For additional print settings, click th
Printing From Start to Finish 29Customizing Your Windows Print SettingsFollow these steps to print a document or image using advanced printer settings
3ContentsWelcome! 7Exif Print 8About Your Software 8About Your Documentation 9Viewing the On-screen Reference Guide 10Loading Paper 11Loading Pape
30 Printing From Start to Finish Color Controls: Lets you adjust the Brightness, Contrast, Saturation, and Cyan, Magenta, and Yellow color levels in y
Printing From Start to Finish 31Basic Printing With Mac OS XFollow the steps below to print a document or image on a Macintosh® using the basic printe
32 Printing From Start to Finish3. Choose the paper size for the paper you loaded, then select the source setting from the submenu for that size. Fo
Printing From Start to Finish 334. Select the direction you want your image or document to print as the Orientation setting. Select for vertical orie
34 Printing From Start to Finish9. Select the type of paper you loaded as the Media Type setting. See page 38.Note: If you can’t choose your paper typ
Printing From Start to Finish 35Caution: Don’t pause printing or respond to ink messages when your printer is printing. This may cause your printer to
36 Printing From Start to FinishCustomizing Your Macintosh Print Settings Follow these steps to print using advanced printer settings on a Macintosh:
Printing From Start to Finish 37Note: For more information on advanced settings, or instructions on saving them as a group so you can reuse them later
38 Printing From Start to FinishSelecting the Correct Media TypeSelect the correct Type or Media Type setting to ensure the best ink coverage.* For be
39Printing Special PhotosWhen you need to print photos using the special Stylus Photo R1800 printing features, follow the instructions in these sectio
4 ContentsPrinting Borderless Cut Sheets 45Windows 46Mac OS X 47Managing Color With Profiles 49Printing With a Color Profile 49Solving Color Mana
40 Printing Special PhotosSelecting Roll Paper Print SettingsFollow the steps in one of these sections to select your roll paper print settings: “Win
Printing Special Photos 416. Choose Roll as the Source setting. The Roll Paper Options box pops up:7. Select the roll paper settings based on the type
42 Printing Special Photos4. Select the Roll Paper or Roll Paper - Borderless setting for your photo size as the Paper Size setting.To print without a
Printing Special Photos 43Note: For PremierArt Water Resistant Canvas, choose Ultra Premium Photo Paper Luster. For Piezo Pro Matte Canvas, choose Pre
44 Printing Special PhotosRemoving Your Printed PhotosFollow these steps to remove your printed photos: 1. Press the z roll paper button once to feed
Printing Special Photos 45Printing Borderless Cut SheetsYou can print your photos with no margins, extending the image all the way to the edges of the
46 Printing Special PhotosCaution: Don’t open Epson Status Monitor, pause printing, or respond to any ink messages when your printer is printing. This
Printing Special Photos 47Mac OS X1. Start your printing application and open your photo file.2. Click File > Page Setup.3. Select Stylus Photo R18
48 Printing Special Photos7. Click File > Print.8. For the Printer setting, select Stylus Photo R1800.9. Select Print Settings from the pop-up menu
Printing Special Photos 49Managing Color With ProfilesFollow the steps in this section to use color profiles for printing with Adobe Photoshop (the in
Contents 5Solving Problems85Printer Parts 86Printer Buttons 87Printer Lights 87Diagnosing Printer Problems 88Running a Printer Check 90Problems a
50 Printing Special Photos4. Open the photo you want to print.5. If you see the message shown below, select Use the embedded profile (instead of the w
Printing Special Photos 51Note: Assigning a profile to the image doesn’t alter the image data, only the interpretation of the data by your software an
52 Printing Special Photos6. As the Print Space: Intent setting, select Relative Colorimetric. Note: If your image contains very saturated colors, sel
Printing Special Photos 537. If you are printing on any of the following glossy media, make sure Gloss Optimizer is set to On: Ultra Premium Photo Pa
54 Printing Special PhotosWindowsOpening Your Image1. Open Adobe Photoshop.2. Select Edit > Color Settings.3. Select U.S. Prepress Defaults or Nort
Printing Special Photos 557. When your image appears, evaluate the color balance and contrast as displayed on your monitor. If they need improvement,
56 Printing Special Photos4. Select File > Print or Print with Preview. 5. If necessary, click More Options or Show More Options. If you see Output
Printing Special Photos 57Printing Your Color-Managed Photo1. Click the Print button.2. Make sure your printer is selected, and click the Properties o
58 Printing Special Photos8. If you are printing on any of the following glossy media, make sure the Gloss checkbox is selected: Ultra Premium Photo
Printing Special Photos 59Printing a Custom Profile Test TargetFollow the steps in this section to create and print individual custom profile test tar
6 Contents
60 Printing Special Photos6. Click the Page Setup button.7. Select Stylus Photo R1800 from the Format for menu.8. Select the appropriate Paper Size an
Printing Special Photos 6115. Select Color Management from the pop-up menu. 16. Click Off (No Color Adjustment).17. Click Print to print your test tar
62 Printing Special Photos8. Click the Advanced button and click Continue.9. Select the media type setting for the paper you’ll use for the print.10.
Printing Special Photos 63Easy Printing With Photoshop Elements 3.0 If you are using Adobe Photoshop Elements 3.0 with Windows, you can take advantage
64 Printing Special Photos5. Select Print from the File menu. You see the Epson EasyPrint interface:6. Change your print settings, as necessary.7. Cli
65Printing on CDs and DVDsYour printer includes a special tray that lets you print customized text, graphics, and photos directly on any ink jet print
66 Printing on CDs and DVDsCleaning the RollerBefore you print on CDs or DVDs, you may need to clean the roller inside the printer. You can do this by
Printing on CDs and DVDs 674. Lift up the printer cover and press in the top of the CD/DVD tray guide as shown. 5. Lower the CD/DVD tray guide.
68 Printing on CDs and DVDs6. Place the CD or DVD on the CD tray with the white or printable side face-up.To print on a small CD (8 cm), place the sma
Printing on CDs and DVDs 69Printing Your DesignAfter you have created your design and loaded a CD or DVD, you’re ready to print.Note: If you’re using
7Welcome!Your Epson Stylus® Photo R1800 gives you beautiful archival prints on a wide variety of glossy and matte papers in many sizes.Your outstandin
70 Printing on CDs and DVDsAdjusting the Print PositionIf your printed images and text are not positioned the way you want, you may need to adjust the
Printing on CDs and DVDs 716. Remove the position check disk or CD and measure the distance from the edge of the hole to the small cross marks (distan
72 Printing on CDs and DVDs4. Make sure EPSON Stylus Photo R1800 is selected, then click Print Density Confirmation Pattern (Windows) or Print Density
73Maintaining Your PrinterFollow the instructions in this chapter to keep your printer working at its best and to prepare it for moving, if necessary:
74 Maintaining Your PrinterAutomatically Checking and Cleaning the Print HeadThe Auto Nozzle Check and Cleaning utility prints a nozzle check pattern
Maintaining Your Printer 75Running the Head Cleaning Utility1. Make sure the printer is turned on but not printing, and the red H ink light is off. (I
76 Maintaining Your PrinterIf the pattern has white lines or gaps (as shown below), click Clean to clean the print head again.If you don’t see any imp
Maintaining Your Printer 77Checking the Ink LevelsTo see an estimate of your ink levels, do one of the following: Windows: Double-click the icon on
78 Maintaining Your PrinterInk Cartridge PrecautionsWarning: Keep ink cartridges out of the reach of children; don’t drink the ink. If ink gets on you
Maintaining Your Printer 795. Shake the new cartridge four or five times before opening its package. (Don’t shake it after it’s unpacked.)6. Remove th
8 Welcome!Exif PrintYour Epson Stylus Photo R1800 printer supports Exif (Exchangeable Image File) Print format to give you the best photo prints possi
80 Maintaining Your PrinterAligning the Print HeadIf your printouts contain misaligned vertical lines, or you see light or dark horizontal banding, yo
Maintaining Your Printer 81Manually Aligning the Print Head1. Turn on the printer.2. Load letter-size Epson Presentation Paper Matte.3. Do one of the
82 Maintaining Your PrinterCleaning the PrinterTo keep your printer working at its best, you should clean it several times a year.1. Turn off the prin
Maintaining Your Printer 83Transporting the PrinterIf you move your printer some distance, you need to prepare it for transportation in its original b
84 Maintaining Your Printer
85Solving ProblemsSee “Diagnosing Printer Problems” on page 88 to help determine what the cause of your printer problem may be. Then see these section
86 Solving ProblemsPrinter PartsPaper support and extensionsSheet feederLeft edge guidePrinter coverOutput tray extensionOutput trayInk cartridge hold
Solving Problems 87Printer ButtonsThe table below summarizes the functions of the printer buttons. Printer LightsThe table below summarizes the functi
88 Solving ProblemsDiagnosing Printer ProblemsFirst, check the printer’s lights (see below) or run a printer check (see page 90).Lights ExplanationGre
Solving Problems 89Red ) paper light flashes Jammed paper or the CD/DVD tray is blocking print head movement, or you’re trying to print on paper or a
Welcome! 9About Your DocumentationTo set up your printer and install its software, see the Start Here sheet. This book contains instructions on: Load
90 Solving ProblemsRunning a Printer CheckYou can run a printer check to determine whether a problem comes from the printer or some other source. 1. T
Solving Problems 91You’re having problems installing or using the printer software. Make sure your printer is turned on and its cable is securely con
92 Solving ProblemsYour printer makes noise when you turn it on or after it has been sitting for awhile.Your printer is performing routine maintenance
Solving Problems 93Quality ProblemsYou see banding (light lines). Clean the print head; see page 73 for instructions. Select a higher print quality
94 Solving ProblemsYour printout is faint or has gaps. Clean the print head; see page 73 for instructions. The ink cartridges may be old or low on
Solving Problems 95 Change the Gamma setting (Macintosh). See page 36. Your printed colors can never exactly match your on-screen colors. However, y
96 Solving Problems3. Position the cleaning sheet in the printer’s sheet feeder as shown below. Make sure the sticky side of the cleaning sheet is fac
Solving Problems 973. Remove any jammed paper from the sheet feeder or open the printer cover and remove any paper jammed inside. Roll paper doesn’t f
98 Solving ProblemsCD/DVD ProblemsYou can’t insert the CD/DVD tray easily.Don’t force the CD/DVD tray into the printer. Turn on your printer and follo
Solving Problems 99You see incorrect characters. Make sure the interface cable is securely connected at both ends and meets the system requirements o
Komentarze do niniejszej Instrukcji